Invited Speakers


[Speakers of plenary (be continually updated)]

Sumio Iijima (Meijo University, Japan;NEC,Japan)

After earning a degree (physics) at Tohuku University in Sendai, Japan, He moved to Arizona State University as a post-doctoral associate where he initiated high-resolution transmission electron microscopy(HRTEM) (1970-1982).Using the technique, he has brought a new type of information of local atomic structures of crystals into condensed matter physics, solid state chemistry, crystallography, mineralogy and materials science.
Ample experiences with the different types of materials including nanostructures of carbon materials have led him to discover carbon nanotubes in later years. In these days, the technique has been known as the most powerful one in the research fields of nano-materials and nanotechnology. In 1982,he returned to Japan and worked for 5 years on a national EARTO project on nano-particles, then joined the NEC fundamental research laboratories.
In 1991,he discovered carbon nanotubes that initiated nano material science and nanotechnology and has being attracted world-wide researchers in academia and industry. Following the discovery, he has been honored with numerous awards and prizes that include : Franklin Medal in physics (2001),Agilent Europhysics award(2002), Balzan Prize (2007,Italy-Switzerland),Kavli Prize (Norway,2008), Prince of Asturias Award (Spain,2008), Order of Culture(Japan,2009).
He is members of Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Science (USA 2007), the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters(2009), Member of Japan Academy (2010)and Foreign member of Chinese Academy of Sciences(2011).

Yasuo Koide(NIMS, Japan)

Yasuo Koide received his Ph.D. degree from Prof. Isamu Akasaki, Nobel laureate in 2014, at Nagoya University in 1988. His PhD work was MOVPE growth of AlxGa1-xN alloy and optical and electrical properties. He fabricated the original MOVPE apparatus with special reactor design, which provided success of the highest-quality GaN and AlxGa1-xN epitaxial layer using the low-temperature buffer layer technique, together with Prof. Hiroshi Amano, Nobel laureate in 2014 and one-year younger PhD student. After Dr. Koide became an assistant professor at Nagoya University and an associate professor at Kyoto University, in 2002 he moved to National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS), Japan. Now he is a director of Research Network and Facility Services Division, a group leader of Wide Bandgap Materials Group, a platform director of the Nanofabrication Platform, and a platform director of Materials Informatics Platform. He has more than 400 publications including technical articles, invited reviews, monographs, and books in semiconductor materials and devices. His research interest is diamond and III-nitrides hybrid electron devices and interface physics.


[Keynote Speakers (be continually updated)]

David Awschalom

(University of Chicago, US)

Hiroshi Kawarada 

(Waseda University, Japan)

Jiangfeng Du

(University of Science and Technology of China)

Robert Hamers

(University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)

Shuit-Tong Lee

(Soochow University, China)

S. R. P. Silva

(University of Surrey, UK)


[Invited Speakers(be continually updated)]

Alexander VUL

(Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute, Russia)

Alon Hoffman

(Schulich Faculty of Chemistry, Israel)

Bingbing Liu

(Jilin University, China)

Bo Shen

(Peking University, China )

Brant Gibson

(RMIT University, Australia )

Chang Liu

(IMR CAS, China )

Cui Yu

(HSRI, China )

Chia-Liang Cheng

(National Dong Hwa University,Taiwan  )

David A. J. Moran

(The University of Glasgow, UK)

Elena Obraztsova

(General Physics Institute RAS, Moscow, Russia)

Esko Kauppinen

(Aalto University, Finland)

Gavin Morley

( University of Warwick,UK )

Gennaro Conte

(Third University of Rome, Italy )

Hideaki Yamada

(AIST-Kansai, Japan)

Hidetoshi SAITOH

(Nagaoka Univ. Tech., Japan)

Hitoshi Umezawa 

Hsien-Chin Chiu

(Chang Gung University, Taiwan)

I-Nan Lin

(Tamkang University, Taiwan)

Jean-Charles Arnault

(Diamond Sensors Laboratory, CEA LIST, France)

Jin Zhang

(Peking University, China)

Jinfang Zhi  

(Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry, CAS)

Jingquan Liu

(QingDao University, China)

Julien Pernot

(Université Grenoble Alpes, France)

Junichi H. Kaneko

(Hokaido University, Japan)

Kaili Jiang

(Tsinghua University, China)

Ke Xu


Ken Haenen

(University of Hasselt, Belgium)

Li Song

(University of Science and Technology of China)

Milos Nesladek

(University of Hasselt, Belgium)

Milos Toth

(University of Technology Sydney, Australia)

Oliver. Williams

(Cardiff University, UK)

Paul May

(University of Bristol, UK)

Ping Yang

(Jinan University, China)

Qiaoliang Bao

(Soochow University, China)

Rod Ruoff

(Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology)

Shiro Sakai

(The University of Tokushima, Japan)

Samuel Saada 

(Diamond Sensors Laboratory,CEA LIST,France)

Tokuyuki Teraji


Takahide Yamaguchi 

(NIMS, Japan)

Vadym Mochalin

(Missouri University of Science & Technology, USA)

Wenjun Zhang

(City University of Hong Kong)

Xin Jiang 

(University of Siegen, Germany)

Xin Li

(Xi’an Jiaotong University, China)

Yi Shi 

(Nanjing University, China)

Yonglai Zhang 

(Jilin University, China)

Yuechan Kong

(Nanjing Electronic Devices Institute, China)

Yuwu Chi 

(Fuzhou University, China)

Zhisheng Zhao

(Yanshan University, China)

Zhuang Liu

(Soochow University, China)


Copyright © 2016 10th International Conference on New Diamond and Nano Carbons. Al